I came home from the car show and….

Aya threw open the door before I could even get the key in the lock.  She gave me a look as she stepped back to let me in.  She just stood there watching as I shut the door and toed off my shoes.  She came close to me then.  She gently stroked my cheek, ran her hands down my arms, took my hands and rubbed them against her cheek.  That’s when I felt the tears.  Alarmed, I asked her what was wrong.  She looked into my eyes and smiled.

“Nothing. Nothing at all.  Everything is wonderful Ju.”  She wrapped her arms around my waist and laid her head against my chest as she continued talking.  “There was a massive pileup on the highway leading from the show.  They said that at least three people were dead and dozens injured. They showed pictures on tv.  One of the cars that was destroyed looked like your mustang.  I tried to call but the lines were jammed with people doing the same thing.  I was so worried.”

I hugged her to me and kissed the top of her head.  “I always leave a little early to beat the crowd and take the smaller roads when I can. ”  She nodded.   “Are you hungry?”   There was something about the way she said it that made me hesitate.  “Yeah a little but it can wait. ”  I swept her up into my arms and headed toward our bedroom.  “Right now I think I want to make sure my baby knows I’m very alive and well.”   She nuzzled my neck and I could feel her wet cheek against my neck.  “You pervert,” she said softly.  “You always jump my bones after a show.”

The sex was slow and reassuring.  We spent the rest of the evening in a kind of quiet bonding of souls.  Talking softly about just about everything.  Touching each other whenever passing.  Light kisses.  It was as if she still wasn’t sure I was alive but cautiously happy that I wasn’t a ghost.  We didn’t make love again that night.  I was kind of tired.  It had been a long day for me but she was happy and content to just lay in my arms until sleep claimed us both.

~ by jujuken on February 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
