Touring part 2

I never thought the day would come when I would feel this way much less state it out loud. I could go forever without being in anything that has four wheels and an engine. Man I’m sick of buses. We eat on the damn things sometimes. Sleep on them, usually out of shear boredom, and act stupid on them. I for one would rather be on the bus with my baby doing other things but that’s not happening. At least not until we get to the next town.

For a blessed change, I will have my own room and I can thank my lovely wife for that blessing. I was sitting in a chair backstage at the last concert hall we played in when she came waltzing in. We’d all been super busy and I hadn’t seen much of her over the past day or three. I pulled her into my lap and stole a few kisses. We were laughing and giving each other little pecks when someone cleared their throat. I looked up and our fearless leader was there with a slight scowl on his face. He informed us that while he understood we hadn’t been able to spend much time together over the past few days, as adults we should be able to put aside such feelings in order to get a job done.

Aya had her back to him as he spoke and was putting soft kisses on my cheeks and at the corner of my mouth which was distracting enough. The fact that she had straddled my lap was even more distracting since parts of me were happy to be so close to parts of her. She stopped kissing me and her back stiffened. I thought to myself “Oh shit!” and was about to shush her but she spoke first. She turned her head slowly as she spoke.

“Are you saying that Ju hasn’t been the perfect bass player for you and hasn’t done everything asked of him and more? Are you saying that I haven’t been doing the best job I can to make sure the staff is safe? I just know you aren’t trying to insinuate that because we are married and are spending a few precious minutes showing how much we miss each other, that we can’t perform our duties properly because of this.”

She was facing him fully by the time she’d finished talking. The look on her face must have been positively sardonic. The color drained from his face and he took a step back before collecting himself, coughing into his hand and telling her that’s not what he meant at all and that since we had been doing such a fine job, he’d make sure we had a room to ourselves when we hit the next town and for us to carry on but not to be too long. Then he fled the room. First time I’ve seen him back down from anything or anyone. She turned back to me all pretty smiles and laughter. I just kissed her senseless then laughed as she swatted at me for grabbing her pert little bubble butt while I was at it.

Our fearless leader was good at his word and for a wonder we managed to get some sleep in between all the other things. I’m going to have to make sure I tell Toshi when I talk to him again. He’s gonna enjoy knowing that he’s not the only one she’s giving those looks to. Back to work. Later peeps.

~ by jujuken on July 24, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
