A night out.

“You must be getting old dude. For you to be complaining about too much sex is mind boggling. Most guys would kill in your position…unless they were too old to handle it that is.”

Ju flipped Toshi the bird and took a sip of his beer. The two men were at Toshi’s place having a few and watching a soccer match. Ju had told him about snapping at Aya for jumping his bones so much. Toshi was suitably non-sympathetic.

“It’s usually the women that accuse US of treating them like meat. She must have been doing some serious bone jumping to get that from you.” He settled down on the sofa and took a bite of pizza they’d had sent in. “Details man! Details!”

Ju gave him a look then sighed. He was stretched out in the leather lounge chair with a couple of pizza slices on a plate in his lap. He checked out the big screen tv to see how much longer before the break was over and tried to decide what to tell the man.

Toshi’s place was a typical man cave. A leather sofa and lounger of black took up most of the living room. There was a small coffee table in front of the sofa with a lamp table/lamp combo next to the lounger. Toshi had learned that having a tv mounted on a wall in a country prone to earthquakes was not a wise move and had a sturdy stand custom made for his tv. His game consoles were in spaces set into the stand with a rack of games within easy reach. His stereo equipment was also on a specially made stand. There was a small wet bar in the room which usually was stocked with beer and booze.

The walls were adorned with pictures of him, friends, family, awards and band members. He had a small kitchenette off to the side that barely got any use. Like Ju, cooking was not one of his best skills and being a bachelor he really didn’t need to do more then know how to make an omelet or reheat take out. Add to that the fact that he wasn’t home much so there was really no need to learn to cook. There was a small den next to the bedroom that he used to stow his gear, a bathroom and of course the bedroom itself.

Ju took another sip of beer to wash down a bite of pizza. “I was tired and usually when she crawls into my lap and gives me some of those kisses I like so much I’ll get the tingle. This time I got nothing. It bothered me. Made me wonder if I’d be able to perform at all. The doubt made me grumpy and I snapped at her. Turns out I had nothing to worry about after all but still, I should have just told her how tired I was. She’d have understood.”

Toshi agreed. “You could have been spending a lot of time on that sofa after a crack like that. Why she loves your ugly mug as much as she does is beyond me but who am I to judge? Kiba’s got two sides. Not grumpy and scary as hell. The things we put up with for love.”

Ju had to raise his beer to that and the two men fell silent for a moment until the game started back up.

Across town, Aya was helping Hana pick out wallpaper for the nursery. Acchan had wisely fled the loft when their talk turned to men, one man in particular. Being glared at by both women may have hastened his departure. He may have been immune to Aya’s glares but Hana’s were another story altogether. Aya shook her head.

“How do you do that? He’s never been bothered by my glares at all.”

Hana laughed. “You aren’t the one he has to sleep with now what’s this about Ju snapping at you?” Her eyes got wide when she heard the story. “Maybe he was just tired Aya. I mean he’s never acted like this before right? I don’t think he’s gotten so old he can’t perform but maybe it’s in the back of his head you know? You’ve mellowed some with age yourself. Don’t look at me like that. A few years ago a crack like that would have had him banished to sofa hell for a while.”

Aya nodded. “I know but with so much that has happened recently…I don’t know. I guess it just got to me. I came very close to losing him Hana and it scared the hell out of me. Then to have him safe and home but not being intimate with him for all of those weeks it just made me want him more I guess. Now I know how he felt when I was going through my mental meltdown last year. It’s hard being so close and still so far away.”

Hana nodded. “I know it would be hard for me to be around Acchan and not be able to be with him.” She squeaked a little as the baby kicked. Aya smiled at her and put a hand on Hana’s stomach feeling the light kicks on her palm.

Aya smiled. “She’s going to be a feisty one. Everything looking okay?” Seeing Hana growing bigger couldn’t help but make her remember her pregnancy. The two women did look a lot alike and to Aya it was like seeing herself in the mirror back then. Aya looked up when she felt a warm hand on hers.

“Don’t worry. Everything is fine. I’m doing what the doctor tells me to do and Acchan is making sure I don’t tax myself when I’m home. We are going to make sure that there is a happy ending here. That reminds me. I found Naohito sitting at the table behind us when we had that conversation about the pictures. Don’t you think that’s kind of odd? Him being there for that particular conversation especially considering those pictures showing up like they did? I think he’s up to something Aya. Keep an eye out for him please?”

Aya scowled. What in the world was the man doing right there? The cafeteria was practically empty so why that table and why hadn’t he let them know he was there with at least a hello? She shook her head. Coincidence. It had to be. Surely he didn’t think after their history that he could ever win her back. She told Hana as much.

“I don’t know Aya but I’m going to keep an eye on him. I don’t trust him farther then I can throw him.” She finally looked at the paper in the book she had open. Pointing at it she said, “That is the ugliest paper in the book.”

Aya looked at it then at her cousin. “It’s the one Acchan likes the most I bet.” When Hana nodded both ladies started laughing and continued to look through the book.

~ by jujuken on May 7, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
