More Touring and Old Friends part 2

The two weeks before the UK tour were going by in the blink of an eye.  Aya was super excited to go since the only time she was there she didn’t get to do any sightseeing at all.

Ju just smiled as he watched his wife bouncing all over the place making sure she had everything she was going to need.  He’d packed the day before but her being female meant at least one complete repack.  He finally grabbed her during one of her frantic trips across the room, tilted her head up and gave her a long, slow kiss.

“Not that I mind but what was that for?”  Ju let her go.  “I just thought it was cute watching you running around like a chicken with its head cut off.  I’m hoping that kiss calmed you down a little.”

Aya took a deep breath then gave him a smile that made his eyebrows rise.  “You keep kissing me like that and you’ll be the one running around and I’ll be the one chasing you.”  She shook her head at the grin that comment got from him.  He leered at her.

“So how fast should I not be going in order to get caught and what are you going to do to me when you do catch me?”  He waggled his eyebrows at her which caused her to giggle.  He took her in his arms.  “A little calmer now?”  He gave her a kiss on the top of her head when she nodded yes.

“We’re going to England Ju.  A whole two weeks.  You are keeping the promise you made to me about seeing the world with me.  I love you.”   She gave him a slow kiss then meeped when he hugged her to tightly.  She slapped at his arms to make him let go but she was laughing the whole time.  She finished packing after he let her go and they both went over the checklist of things they had to have.

They had just finished dinner when there was a knock at the door.  Aya went to answer it and was surprised to find Goner at the door.  She was even more surprised when he just walked in after gently moving her out of the doorway.  He whistled as he looked around.

“Nice place dude.  Is that your shop downstairs?  I’ve heard of the place.  Didn’t know it was yours.  What’s up?  Woman will you stop hitting me in the head?  That one hurt.  Ju…you gonna let her…?”  He stopped talking and sniffed.  “Damn.  That smells good.  What’s for dinner?”  He gave them both a cheeky grin.

Aya pinched the bridge of her nose while Ju frowned at the man.  “Goner, what the hell are you doing here and give me one good reason why I don’t toss your ass back out the door?”  Goner grinned as he headed into the kitchen, finding it by following his nose.  He lifted the lid on the rice cooker, grabbed a bowl from one of the cabinets after opening a few doors and helped himself to what was left of the stir fry, not even bothering to reheat it.  He sat down at the table and begin to eat.  Aya didn’t even bother to follow them.

Ju was debating whether it was worth the assault charge to beat the man senseless when Goner looked up and motioned for him to sit.

“I ran into a young man in America.  He’s looking to be the vocalist in a band.  He’s good.  Does a wide range of styles of music mostly alternative.  Good voice.  He’s cut a few singles here and abroad.  After we talked I realized that he reminded me of you.  I think you two would get along.  He’s already got a lead guitarist who’s a friend but they are looking for someone to be the group leader.  I thought of you.  They need a bassist and since they will be local I figured you might want to have your own band in case things end with V.  I read that H is going to sit down and evaluate where he is as a musician in a couple of years.  He might just decide to stick with his first band and you guys will be left looking for work again.  I gave him your address and told him that you’d meet with him when you get back from the UK tour.”

He reached into his pocket and pulled out a flash drive, handing it to a stunned Ju.  “Here.  Clip of him performing and a few of his songs.  Check him out.”  He called out to Aya who was in the next room.  “The food was good.  Got any dessert and a beer would be nice but I’ll settle for tea if you don’t have any.”

Aya came in and  gave him a look that took a few shades from his complexion before she got him a beer.  “Dude that is one scary woman you married.  I thought that woman I married could give me death glares.  She pales in comparison.”

Ju crossed his arms across his chest and leaned back in his chair.  “That’s another reason why I married her.  She keeps idiots like you and my friend Toshi in check with those glares.  Hmm…I wonder how busy Toshi is.  He might be interested since Gargoyle isn’t doing much.  Maybe I’ll call him and see if he’s interested though he’s more a heavy metal bassist.”

“You can call him all you want just make sure we don’t wind up in the same room.  I was married to his cousin.  To say we don’t see eye to eye on things is an understatement.”

Goner jumped when Aya slammed the beer down in front of him.  “If I could be sure he’d gut you I’d call him myself.”  She stalked off toward the bedroom.

Goner looked after her.  “I don’t think she likes me much.”

“Ya think?  If I were you I’d be real careful what I had to eat or drink here.  No telling what special ingredients she might add.”

Goner looked at his beer and was thankful it was unopened.  “Remind me to always eat before I come over here.”

“You can solve that problem by not coming over.  I don’t seem to remember giving you an open invitation.  Hell.  I haven’t given you any invitations.  Don’t you have a club or something to run?”

Goner pointed at the flash drive.  “I need that back.”  When Ju handed it to him he added “after you’ve looked at it you jerk.”

Ju sighed and went to get his laptop.  He opened the drive and watched the short video and listened to a couple of the songs.  Kid was good.  He handed the flash drive back to Goner after downloading the contents.  He wanted Aya’s opinion.  “I’ll give it some thought.  Now get the hell out.  I’ve still got some things to do.”

Goner grinned and it made Ju want to smack him.  “I’m sure jumping that cute little sprite’s bones is on that list.  I’m gone dude.   All the pertinent info is in that word document.  I’m sure I’ll be hearing from you.”  He stood up.  “I’m leaving beautiful.  Don’t you want to come see me off?”

Aya came out of the bedroom holding her surgical scissors.  Goner took one look at them and sprinted for the door then out.  Ju was in the background laughing.  Aya just shrugged and went back to checking her nurse’s bag to make sure she had plenty of everything.  Ju shut the front door then headed into the bedroom.

Aya turned.  “What was his problem?  I was going to just say goodbye.  If I’d planned on gutting him he wouldn’t have seen it coming.”

Ju took the nurse’s bag and put it on the nightstand then pulled his wife to him and gave her a kiss that left her breathless.  “I love it when you go all barbarian princess on me.  It’s a turn on.”

Aya grinned.  “You have some serious issues.  Ju?  Wait.  What?  I’ve still got some things to…oh never mind.   Do that again.  Yes.  Right there.  I guess the rest of this can wait.”

Ju gently pushed her toward the bed.  “I was hoping you’d say that.”

 

~ by jujuken on March 1, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
